Hikers retain men’s first-division title; GBTI GCC Tigers 2019 women’s champs

first_imgPepsi Hikers and GBTI GCC Tigers emerged as the 2019 first-division winners at the conclusion of the GTT National Indoor Hockey Championships Sunday evening at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall, Homestretch Avenue. Hikers, who entered the tournament as title holders, defeated a gritty YMCA Old Fort Delta Force squad 4-3. The match was played with relentless pace and for the most part on YMCA’s half as Hikers squandered a couple of early chances. Captain Robert France changed his side’s fortunes when he netted in the seventh minute to atone for the early blunders. Autoplay Autoplay1 of 3Hikers’ Aroydy Branford (right) and Andrew Stewart (left) were adjudged top goal scorer and MVP respectively (Royston Alkins photo)Best goalkeeper Paul D’Andrade in both the first and second D leagues defended well against Robert France (Royston Alkins photo)MVP Marzana Fiedtkou after a flick on goal (Royston Alkins photo)Two minutes later Aroydy Branford found the back of the net to make it 2-0 before Andrew Stewart’s 19th minute strike gave Hikers a 3-0 lead at the half.  Old Fort, who played with more intent during the second half, netted two quick goals which came off the sticks of Omar Hopkinson and Jason DeSantos before France converted a brace to seal the deal as Old Fort scored their final goal in the closing seconds of the game. The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award went to Stewart while Branford’s 13 goals was the highest tally of the tournament. The best goalkeeper prize was gloved by Old Fort’s Paul D’Andrade. The women’s final on the other hand went Tiger’s way, defeating their GCC counterparts GBTI GCC Spice 6-3. Goals for the eventual winners were converted by the tournament’s MVP and top goal scorer (17) Marzana Fiedtkou who netted a hat-trick while Sonia Jardine netted a brace.  The other goal was scored by Gabriella Xavier. Spice’s goals were scored by Sandy Roopnarine who netted twice while Shebiki Baptise had the other. Briawna Gordon was adjudged best goalkeeper.  The Over-35 crown went to YMCA Old Fort Hot Shotz who edged Bounty GCC Vintage 10-9 in a high-scoring thriller while the men’s second division honours went to Bounty GCC Pitbulls who defeated Bounty GCC The Sequal 6-1 in the final. Kareem McKenzie was presented with the MVP award.Hopkinson’s 13 goals were  the most of the tournament while D’Andrade copped the best goalkeeper prize, his second of the tournament.last_img read more

Satellites trounce Namibia

first_imgThe Black Satellites began the defence of their African title with a 4-0 annihilation of Namibia at the Ohene Djan Sports Sunday.Skipper Mahatmar Otoo led by example when he opened the goal harvest early in the 2nd minute with a well taken goal.Eight minutes later Frank Achempong doubled the lead for the Satellites and dominated play before recess.The Satellites started the second half the same way they ended the first with substitute Yusif Abdul Aziz scoring the third goal with his first touch.Frank Acheampong put the icing on the cake with his personal second and the fourth for the Satellites.The defending champions will trek to Namibia in a fortnight for the second leg. Source: Myjoyonline.com/Ghanalast_img read more